Top Ten Tuesday

Romance Books To Read If You Love The Forced Proximity Trope

20220308 Forced Proximity trope
  • Save

Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl

Hi everybody, and welcome to a new Top Ten Tuesday! Today we’re talking about tropes πŸ™‚

I already did a few of my favorite tropes in the past: Enemies to loverspen pal romancesfound familiesmore enemies to loversfake dating. But a trope I didn’t yet focus on, yet love immensely, is the forced proximity trope!

Forced proximity can encompass a lot of things. Basically it’s when 2 people (maybe enemies, maybe friends, maybe acquaintances, maybe strangers) are forced to spend a lot of time together (whether they want to or not). It can be that are forced to work together, go on a trip together, need to survive in the woods together, are stuck living together, forced to pretend to date, and so on. So there is definitely some overlap possible with those other well-loved tropes, but in whatever form it’s a trope I can’t get enough off and always seem to love.

So below are 14 romance books to read if you love the forced proximity trope!

divider black
  • Save

Roomies by Christina Lauren | Twice Shy by Sarah Hogle | Under One Roof by Ali Hazelwood | Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett | Beach Read by Emily Henry | Shipped by Angie Hockman | The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren | From Lukov With Love by Mariana Zapata | The Roommate by Rosie Danan | The Bride Test by Helen Hoang | The Hating Game by Sally Thorne | The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa | The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas | The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary | The Charm Offensive by Alison Cochrun

Tell Me:
Have you read any of these? Any you loved?
Any other books with the forced proximity trope you love?

Lindsey xoxo
  • Save

Follow me on: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

42 Comments

  1. This is an amazing list! So many books that I want to read and so many that I loved! I also love when there’s only one bed and they are forced to share πŸ˜‚

    My Top Ten

    1. The one bed trope is indeed so amazing!

  2. After reading The Love Hypothesis I’ll probably be reading some more Ali Hazelwood so Under One Roof will probably come by at some point for me.

    I also love the cover of The Worst Best Man

    1. Same, Ali Hazelwood is definitely an author I want to read more of after loving The Love Hypothesis πŸ™‚

  3. This is a fun trope and always bound to make for fun reading too! I have Beach Read and The Unhoneymooners on my Kindle. Just need to get to reading it.

    Happy TTT!

    Elza Reads

    1. It’s indeed such a fun trope πŸ™‚ Hope you’ll enjoy Beach Read and The Unhoneymooners!

  4. This is one of my favorite tropes and I see several faves on your list, especially Beach Read, The Bride Test, and The Unhoneymooners. πŸ™‚

    1. It’s such a fun trope, I was actually surprised to see how many of my favorites had this trope (though I shouldn’t have been, haha)

  5. Wow, you came up with a lot of answers for this! That’s awesome.

    My post: https://lydiaschoch.com/top-ten-tuesday-books-with-your-favourite-theme/

    1. Haha yes, I think it’s definitely one of my favorite tropes πŸ™‚

  6. Stephanie - Bookfever says:

    Forced proximity is one of the best tropes! I haven’t read any of these soooo I have a lot to read now 😍

    1. Forced proximity is definitely one of the best tropes!

  7. I love the forced proximity trope especially when combined with taking care of each other when sick or the one-bed trope! It always sends me squeeing 😍 I have a few of these on my TBR and can’t wait to read ’em. Great list!

    1. OMG yes, taking care of each other when sick and the one-bed trope are both *chef’s kiss*

  8. Great list! I’ve heard there’s a movie out there on Hating Game which I really want to watch.

    1. Me too! I love The Hating Game book so I’m super curious about the movie. Hope we’ll both love the movie.

  9. Anytime I see The Charm Offensive I get a smile on my face. πŸ™‚

    Several of these are already on my TBR: From Lukov With Love, Roomies, and Starry Eyes.

    1. Ah yes me too! It makes me happy to see The Charm Offensive get some love πŸ™‚
      Hope you’ll enjoy From Lukov With Love, Roomies, and Starry Eyes too when you get to them!

  10. I love Forced Proximity! There’s 4 on here I haven’t read yet, so I’m writing them down.

    1. Forced Proximity is such a fun trope πŸ™‚ Hope you’ll enjoy those books you haven’t read yet!

  11. I have Beth O’Leary on my TBR pile but haven’t read anything by her yet. There are not many romance tropes that I do not like.

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy Beth O’Leary when you try her books! And haha so true, I also mostly love romance tropes πŸ™‚

  12. These covers are look SO GOOD together omg

    1. They do look so pretty and colorful!

  13. Oh, I love this list! I love the forced proximity trope, plus one bed, but one/shared horse may be my favorite! (Maybe since I read a lot of fantasy, so horses are fairly common) πŸ˜πŸ˜†

    Here’s my TTT post

    1. Ooh I hadn’t even thought of the one/shared horse trope yet, but you’re right that’s such a good trope!

  14. This is a fun trope! The Unhoneymooners looks awesome- I always love that cover when I see it- and Starry Eyes is one I wanted to get to as well.

    1. Yes, the cover for The Unhoneymooners is so summery, I love it πŸ™‚ And I highly recommend Starry Eyes, hope you’ll love it if you decide to try it.

  15. Ahh, this is such a fun trope! The Unhoneymooners was such a great read!

    1. Definitely can’t go wrong with forced proximity πŸ™‚ The Unhoneymooners was so much fun!

  16. Sophie @BewareOfTheReader says:

    I love the Forced Proximity Trops and you have some favorites above so I’ll add the ones I haven’t read yet!

    1. Oh, hope you’ll enjoy those you haven’t read yet!

  17. I love the forced proximity trope. It’s so much fun. I also love that The Unhoneymooners and The Flatshare made your list. πŸ˜€

    1. Forced proximity is indeed such a fun trope! And The Unhoneymooners and The Flatshare are two of my absolute favorites πŸ™‚

  18. Poinsettia says:

    This is a good trope, and several of these sound really fun! Especially The Unhoneymooners! Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thank you!

    1. The Unhoneymooners is definitely a super fun read!

  19. Lauren Becker says:

    I really liked Beach Read, and I ADORE The Charm Offensive.

    Lauren @ http://www.shootingstarsmag.net

    1. The Charm Offensive definitely deserves all the love πŸ™‚

  20. While I haven’t got to any of them yet; they are pratically ALL on my wanna read list- ahaha πŸ˜…

    1. Haha, hope you’ll love them when you get to them!

  21. Another reminder that I really do need to give Beth’s novels a chance! πŸ˜€

    1. Haha I definitely recommend her books!

Leave a Comment: