Recommendations Top Ten Tuesday

Books To Read If you Love Enemies-To-Lovers Romances Part 2

20200623 Enemies to lovers part 2
  • Save

Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl

Hi everybody, and welcome to a new Top Ten Tuesday!

Today’s a special post, because Top Ten Tuesday turns TEN! So to celebrate this anniversary of the beloved book blogger meme, we can look back at any post we’ve done and redo or update that one. And well, one topic immediately came to mind, because it’s both a personal favorite, and one of my most popular posts I’ve done so far. And that’s why we now have:

BOOKS TO READ IF YOU LOVE ENEMIES-TO-LOVERS ROMANCES… PART TWO!

Side note: for me, enemies-to-lovers can mean anything on the spectrum from “You annoy me greatly and I can’t stand you” until “we are doomed to be on opposite ends of this deadly war and I may have to kill you”.

Check out part one here and then check out EVEN MORE amazing enemies-to-lovers romances below!

The Folk of the Air trilogy by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
  • Save
The Wicked King by Holly Black
  • Save
The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black
  • Save

The Folk of the Air trilogy is one of the most hyped trilogies in the bookish world, and though its not perfect, to me it’s still worth all the hype.

From the very first chapter it is very clear what kind of book this will be: a cruel, bloody, deceptive and deliciously morally grey. When Jude’s parents get killed right in front of her eyes, she and her two sisters are whisked away to grow up and live at the High Court of Faerie, to live with their parents’ murderer (who also happens to be the father of one of them) as a new family. But since they are mortal, life with the fey is immensely tough, as many of them despise mortals, and Jude and her sisters face a lot of extreme bullying. One of these bullies is the cruel prince Cardan himself. But don’t be mistaken, Jude can be just as bad. And yet I shipped these two like crazy.

divider black
  • Save

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren
  • Save

When Olive and Ethan turn out to be the only people in the wedding party NOT struck with food poisoning, they decide to go on the honeymoon meant for the sick bride and groom…

I love Christina Lauren’s writing and I love a good enemies-to-lovers story, so this book felt like it was written just for me. And I loved every minute of it.

The Hawaiian setting, the premise, the characters, the banter, the chemistry, the shenanigans,…

 

 

divider black
  • Save

The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa

The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa
  • Save

This is a story about a wedding planner who got stood up at the altar and two years later has to work together with her ex-best (worst) man to secure her dream job.

It’s a fun enemies-to-lovers story which you know I’m a sucker for. The banter between Lina and Max is sassy and cute and I thoroughly enjoyed the slow-burn romance.

Also, it has some great Brazilian rep and I highly enjoyed all the food descriptions. (hungry just thinking about it).

 

 

divider black
  • Save

The Serpent & Dove trilogy by Shelby Mahurin

Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin
  • Save
Blood and Honey by Shelby Mahurin
  • Save

A witch and a witch hunter bound together in holy matrimony. YES PLEASE, be still, my enemies-to-lovers beating heart. This was worth all the hype, a fun witchy story with amazing characters and a lovely angsty romance.

The sequel, Blood & Honey, is coming out on September 1st and is already one of my most anticipated reads of the year.

divider black
  • Save

The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller
  • Save

The Shadows Between Us is described as a ‘Slytherin romance’ in which an ambitious girl’s plan is to woo the Shadow King, marry the Shadow King and then kill the Shadow King so she can be Queen.

I loved reading about such a cunning, ambitious ‘heroine’ and the romance was exactly what I needed. I also loved the weird juxtaposition of good vs evil (one of the ‘villains’ is a type of Robin Hood character who steals from the rich to give it to the poor and the ‘heroes’ are taking over the world by force or you know, plotting to kill the king for personal gain). Overall, a really fun ride.

 

divider black
  • Save

The Crier’s War duology by Nina Varela

Crier's War by Nina Varela
  • Save
Iron Heart by Nina Varela
  • Save

Talking about enemies-to-lovers books that have been very hyped and yet totally worth it, I present to you Crier’s War. This is an awesome sci-fi story about a human girl who wants revenge on the automae who enslaved all other humans and killed her family by killing the sovereign’s daughter. But what are these feelings she’s growing?

If you’re looking for a unique sci-fi, a fast-paced adventure and angsty f/f romance, this is it! (The sequel and finale, Iron Heart, is scheduled for release on September 8th).

divider black
  • Save

Well Met by Jen DeLuca

Well Met by Jenn DeLuca
  • Save

An enemies-to-lovers romance set at a Renaissance Fair. A RENAISSANCE FAIR!!

The story’s about Emily, who’s in a bit of a life slump as her boyfriend left her and she’s out of a job and a home. When she temporarily moves in with her sister to take care of her while she’s recovering from a car accident, she gets roped into volunteering at the Renaissance Fair with her niece. There she meets Simon, who she immediately dubs the RenFaire killjoy and the dislike seems to be mutual. But in costume as pirate and tavern wench, their chemistry is undeniable. Soon Emily find herself enjoying the fair, Simon and this small town and its inhabitants and wondering if maybe this can be more than just a stop on the road to somewhere else…

 

divider black
  • Save

From Lukov with Love by Mariana Zapata

From Lukov With Love by Mariana Zapata
  • Save

From Lukov With Love is a story about Jasmine, a professional figure skater. After seventeen years as a solo figure skater, she feels like her professional window is closing, but then the offer of a lifetime comes in – become the skating partner of Ivan Lukov for a season.

Ivan is an amazing skater and used to winning so it should be an easy choice for Jasmine… but this is a sport that requires you to absolutely one hundred percent trust your partner and Jasmine and Lukov hate each other…

Perfect for those slow-burn fans out there!

 

divider black
  • Save

Red White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Red White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
  • Save

First son of the United States hates British prince… until an international ‘incident’ forces them to pretend to be friends and hate turns into love.

We all know the storyline because this book is one of the most hyped books around right now. And I’m not gonna lie, I’ve been highly anticipating this book as well. I mean, enemies-to-lovers? Royalty and politics?  And loads of text and email conversations? YESSS! And despite my high expectations, I am happy to say this book was AMAZING and lived up to all of them. The sass. The banter. The chemistry. The friendships. The e-mails, did I mention the e-mails??? Overall, this book was just a fresh, cute, hopeful ray of sunshine and was a welcome reprieve from the sometimes ugly world we live in nowadays.

 

divider black
  • Save

Wicked Fox by Kat Cho

Wicked Fox by Kat Cho
  • Save
Vicious Spirits by Kat Cho
  • Save

A fantasy romance set in modern-day Seoul, this story features a gumiho, the mythical nine-tailed fox that devours the energy of men to survive, and the human boy that is drawn to her.  I quite enjoyed this story, it was filled with lots of Korean mythology goodies, reminded me of kdramas (which are fabulous) and had a good mix of action and romance.

divider black
  • Save

To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo
  • Save

A little mermaid retelling featuring killer sirens collecting the hearts of princes and a prince who’s actually a pirate hunting down sirens AND a slow-burn hate-to-love romance?

BE STILL MY BEATING HEART!

I had a feeling going into this that I could love this and it ended up living up to all my expectations. Highly recommend!

 

 

divider black
  • Save

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

the-love-interest-by-cale-dietrich
  • Save

This is one of the most fun and original stories out there…

The Love Interest is about a spy school that trains these teens to become tropes. Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad? Also, whoever doesn’t get the girl, dies. And then they end up falling for eachother instead?

THIS SHIP, I WAS ON IT JUST BY READING THE BLURB!

 

divider black
  • Save

Letters To The Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Letters To The Lost by Brigid Kemmerer
  • Save

Besides enemies-to-lovers, this book features another one of my favorite tropes: the pen pal romance!

When Juliet’s mom passes away, Juliet takes up the habit of writing her letters and leaving them at her grave. Until one day Declan, who is doing community service at the cemetery and battling demons of his own, picks up one of the letters and answers it.

Though in real life these two teens hate each other, the two end up bonding over their shared grief in their letters and it is both a heartbreaking and heartwarming read.

 

divider black
  • Save

Tell Me:
Do you love enemies-to-lovers romances? Did you love any of the books I mentioned? Do you have any other recommendations for me?

Lindsey xoxo
  • Save

Follow me on:
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

16 Comments

  1. So. Many. Good. Books! 🙂 I seriously loved the Folk of the Air trilogy. The push and pull between Jude and Cardan was everything. The Unhoneymooners was loads of fun. Alex + Henry in RW&RB were priceless. I loved their banter. Letters to the Lost is one of my favorites. (And Rev is one of my favorite fictional characters ever.) Well Met was just a bundle of joy. One of my biggest surprises last year. 🙂

    1. Ah so glad you enjoyed so many of these as well! Jude and Cardan were so intriguing to read about and Alex and Henry were just precious 🙂 Oh, and I definitely agree about Rev being one of the best fictional characters out there!

  2. So many of these are on my wishlist! I can’t wait to read Serpent & Dove, Red White & Royal Blue and Wicked Fox.

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy all of these!

  3. Great list! The Folk of the Air trilogy is the ultimate enemies-to-lovers series for me, I love how juicy and dramatic it is. I want to read Serpent & Dove and The Unhoneymooners, too, so it’s good to know you enjoyed them both! I did really enjoy Well Met, but I must admit I was hoping for a bit more banter? Personally I felt like Emily was drooling over Simon a little too quickly, especially considering how rude he initially is!

    1. Haha yeah, The Folk of the Air trilogy is definitely very juicy and dramatic, it’s so good!
      I definitely understand your point about hoping for more banter in Well Met – once the pirate persona was out, the banter kind of changed too quickly, it could definitely have been a bit of a slower burn there.

  4. Sooo many good books and so many to add to my tbr!
    I am eagerly waiting for Blood & Honey too. I just read Serpent and Dove this May and I loved it!
    The Folk of the Air trilogy has forever been in my list, I really hope to read it by this year!

    1. I’m so looking forward to Blood & Honey!
      Hope you’ll enjoy the Folk of the Air trilogy when you get to it!

  5. I think my previous comment might have went to spam? Eek. anyway I love the look of the Folk of the Air series- those have been on my list and I need to get to ’em- and The Unhoneymooners looks great too!

    1. Ahh I’m sorry I’ve been having some issues with comments – I hope it’s fixed now though.
      Hope you’ll enjoy the Folk of the Air series and The Unhoneymooners!

  6. I love a good enemies to lovers romance! Loved The Unhoneymooners, and From Lukov with Love is on my tbr! I’ve heard only great things about it. Great topic!

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy From Lukov With Love!

  7. I am in shock. I’ve not read any of these books. I guess I don’t go for frienemies books. Ha! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    1. Haha, guess it’s not your favorite trope then and that’s definitely okay 🙂

  8. I adore enemies to lovers romance and I’ve read about half of these, so I need to get busy and read the other half now. 🙂

    1. Enemies to lovers is the best, I’m glad it’s such a popular trope and there are plenty of books with it 🙂

Leave a Comment: (Please note I have been having some commenting issues lately. If you notice any issues with your comment, like an error or it not showing up right away when it should, please let me know through social media so I can find the problem and fix it. Thank you so much!)