Top Ten Tuesday

If You Liked These TV Shows, You Should Try These Books

20211102 If You Liked
  • Save

Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl

Hi everybody, and welcome to a new Top Ten Tuesday!
Today’s topic was actually ‘Books I Would Hand To Someone Who Claims To Not Like Reading’, but I was really, really struggling with this topic. It’s so difficult to recommend books anyway, and to someone who does not like reading at all? So much depends on what they like and I don’t know, I just couldn’t make this topic work. So I thought I’d twist it a bit and recommend books based on TV shows and… I still struggled quite a bit. This is NOT easy. Maybe I should watch more TV shows. And also, read more books, hah! Anyway, I came up with a few suggestions, so here we go:

If you watched Buffy The Vampire Slayer
  • Save

What they have in common: vampires, a kickass female leads who hunts down said vampires, a vampire romance, lots of humor and tons of supernatural goodness.

If You Watched The Good Place
  • Save

What they have in common: an exploration of what happens after death, a main character who’s not a good person at first but goes on an incredible journey, found family, quirk and humor and all the emotions

If You Watched Bridgerton
  • Save

What they have in common: similar time periods (umm, give or take 60 years), a romance involving a duke, great secondary characters and a dash (or a lot) of feminism.

If You Watched Never Have I Ever
  • Save

What they have in common: a teenage main character who makes unwise but highly entertaining choices in their quest to find love.

If You Watched The Umbrella Academy
  • Save

What they have in common: People with superpowers trying to be heroes but also kind of failing at it or just outright becoming villains, found family, kind of twisted, kind of fun.

If You Watched The Queen's Gambit
  • Save

What they have in common: The journey of a gifted young woman who grows up to become a legend in her choice of career, but not without many struggles along the way.

If You Watched The Great British Bake-Off
  • Save

What they have in common: Reality TV show setting, people making cakes, lots of baking goodness

If You Watched The Big Bang Theory
  • Save

What they have in common: All the science, loveable nerdy characters, romance and humor

If You Watched Emily in Paris
  • Save

What they have in common: Fashionable, all-American girl moving somewhere new (Paris or Alaska, big difference but similar themes) and trying to make the most of it, facing prejudices from locals as well as her own prejudices, lots of drama but also romance.

If You Watched The Bachelor
  • Save

What they have in common: A reality TV show setting in which a group of women compete for the love (and proposal) of one man, lots of drama

divider black
  • Save

Tell Me:
Do you agree with the above picks? Any other books you’d recommend based on these TV shows?

Lindsey xoxo
  • Save

Follow me on: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

44 Comments

  1. I love this idea and I love your recommendations! I have watched some of these but not read some of these books, so now I’m super psyched to read these book recs! Thanks, Lindsey!

    1. Thanks so much! Hope you’ll find some new books to love πŸ™‚

  2. The Love Hypothesis sounds fun! and so does Simple Wild. This was a tough topic this week, i like how you did yours.

    1. Thanks! It was such a tough topic, I always struggle with these kind of recommendations.

  3. Awesome list Lindsey! I’m reading Under the Whispering Door right now.

    1. Oh hope you’ll love Under The Whispering Door!

  4. This is such a great list! There are so many great book options for people who are fans of period tv shows like Bridgerton or Downton Abbey.

    1. Thanks! I honestly haven’t read that many historical romances (yet) but I always want to try more!

    1. It’s one of my favorites! πŸ™‚

  5. This is such a great list! I love The Good Place and Under the Whispering Door, as well as Vicious and Umbrella Academy 😍 Can’t wait to read (and watch!) a few others here!

    1. Thanks so much! Those are some of my all time fave reads/tv shows πŸ™‚

  6. I just got _The Love Hypotheses_ from the library. Can’t wait to start it.

    My postβ€”https://fiftytwo.blog/2021/11/02/ttt-books-to-recommend-to-non-readers/

    Happy TTT!
    Lori

    1. I read it last month and loved it, hope you will too!

  7. Sophie @BewareOfTheReader says:

    I think you did an amazing twist on today’s topic and are spot on!!

    1. Thanks so much, Sophie!

  8. Stephanie - Bookfever says:

    I love your recommendations, Lindsey! Especially the first one is perfect. 😍

    1. Thanks! Haha, it was the first one that came to mind while creating this post πŸ™‚

  9. I don’t watch much TV, so I would actually do the opposite with this prompt. I did watch/read Bridgerton, though. You have me curious about that book now!

    1. I don’t read a lot of historical romance (though I always want to read more), but I really loved Bringing Down the Duke!

      1. I’m in the same category as you, so I would probably love it then.

  10. What a great idea to pair TV shows with books. Checking out some of these titles… I’m off the board this week with nonfiction favorites

    1. Thanks, hope you’ll find a recommendation for you πŸ™‚

  11. If you like this, try that are always such fun posts. I’ve not seen any of the shows (I’m not a TV watcher) but I love seeing The Simple Wild recommendation. Loved that one!

    1. I fell in love with The Simple Wild earlier this year, it’s so good!

  12. masterspj says:

    I love the Great British Baking Show, and I have Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake on my TBR! I have found that I lean into books that involve food because it’s something that I enjoy when I’m not reading.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!
    https://readbakecreate.com/bookish-gift-guide-big-spender-edition/

    1. Oh if you love the Great British Baking Show, I definitely think you’ll love Rosaline Palmer!

  13. Love your twist on this week’s topic! I can’t wait to get to Under the Whispering Door, and I’ve heard so many good things about The Love Hypothesis.

    1. Two of my favorite reads of 2021, hope you’ll enjoy!

  14. Such a fun post and I completely agree with every single one of your picks. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks so much!

  15. I’ve watched Bridgerton and have read Evie Dunmore, that’s recommendation is spot on. Same with The Queen’s Gambit and Evelyn Hugo. Happy reading!

    My TTT: https://readwithstefani.com/ten-old-favorite-books-i-want-to-reread-to-determine-if-theyre-all-time-favorites/

    1. Thanks, glad you agree with those recs πŸ™‚

  16. Brilliant idea. I love this way of convincing someone here’s book you should love to read based on what we watch! Clever.

    1. Thanks so much! It was a tough post to put together, but also very fun to do πŸ™‚

  17. Totally Agree!!

  18. The only one where I’ve read/watched both is Vicious/The Umbrella Academy, but yes, they’re a great fit. I might actually try Under The Whispering Door, as I LOVED The Good Place. This is a fun topic idea, I might try it myself at some point.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2021/11/02/top-ten-tuesday-340/

    1. Thanks! I LOVED The Good Place too so I hope you’ll love Under The Whispering Door too if you decide to try it πŸ™‚

  19. These are so fun! I loved The Charm Offensive and Vicious. πŸ™‚

    Lauren @ http://www.shootingstarsmag.net

    1. Thanks! Two of my favorites for sure πŸ™‚

  20. […] Lindsey @ Lindsey Reads lists a few books to read if you loved these TV shows […]

  21. This idea is amazing! And now I’m going to add more books to my TBR.

    1. Haha, always happy to help increase those TBR’s πŸ˜€

Leave a Comment: