Top Ten Tuesday

10 Books To Read If You Love Hades & Persephone Retellings

20211116 Hades and Persephone retellings
  • Save

Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl

Hi everybody, and welcome to a new Top Ten Tuesday!

Today I wanted to talk about books based on the Greek Myth of Hades and Persephone. I love Greek myths in general, but the story of Hades and Persephone is one of my absolute favorites! And I guess I’m not the only one, because there are actually quite a few Hades and Persephone retellings out there. Below I’m listing 10 of those retellings, some I’ve read and enjoyed, others still on my TBR, some young adult, some very adult (and I mean steamy), some pretty direct retellings and some more inspired by the myth. So something for everyone! Check them out and please comment below if you have any other Hades and Persephone recs for me.

Lore Olympus by Rachel Smythe
  • Save

Lore Olympus by Rachel Smythe

Experience the propulsive love story of two Greek gods—Hades and Persephone—brought to life with lavish artwork and an irresistible contemporary voice.

Scandalous gossip, wild parties, and forbidden love—witness what the gods do after dark in this stylish and contemporary reimagining of one of mythology’s most well-known stories from creator Rachel Smythe. Featuring a brand-new, exclusive short story, Smythe’s original Eisner-nominated web-comic Lore Olympus brings the Greek Pantheon into the modern age with this sharply perceptive and romantic graphic novel.

This volume collects episodes 1-25 of the #1 WEBTOON comic, Lore Olympus.

divider black
  • Save
The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  • Save

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

divider black
  • Save
ATouchofDarkness
  • Save

A Touch of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair

Persephone is the Goddess of Spring by title only. The truth is, since she was a little girl, flowers have shriveled at her touch. After moving to New Athens, she hopes to lead an unassuming life disguised as a mortal journalist.

Hades, God of the Dead, has built a gambling empire in the mortal world and his favorite bets are rumored to be impossible.

After a chance encounter with Hades, Persephone finds herself in a contract with the God of the Dead and the terms are impossible: Persephone must create life in the Underworld or lose her freedom forever.

The bet does more than expose Persephone’s failure as a Goddess, however. As she struggles to sow the seeds of her freedom, love for the God of the Dead grows—and it’s forbidden.

divider black
  • Save
Neon Gods by Katee Robert
  • Save

Neon Gods by Katee Robert

He was supposed to be a myth. But from the moment I crossed the River Styx and fell under his dark spell… he was, quite simply, mine.

Society darling Persephone Dimitriou plans to flee the ultra-modern city of Olympus and start over far from the backstabbing politics of the Thirteen Houses. But all that’s ripped away when her mother ambushes her with an engagement to Zeus, the dangerous power behind their glittering city’s dark facade.

With no options left, Persephone flees to the forbidden undercity and makes a devil’s bargain with a man she once believed a myth… a man who awakens her to a world she never knew existed.

Hades has spent his life in the shadows, and he has no intention of stepping into the light. But when he finds that Persephone can offer a little slice of the revenge he’s spent years craving, it’s all the excuse he needs to help her—for a price. Yet every breathless night spent tangled together has given Hades a taste for Persephone, and he’ll go to war with Olympus itself to keep her close…

A modern retelling of Hades and Persephone that’s as sinful as it is sweet.

divider black
  • Save
A Rogue By Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean
  • Save

A Rogue By Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean

What a scoundrel wants, a scoundrel gets…

A decade ago, the Marquess of Bourne was cast from society with nothing but his title. Now a partner in London’s most exclusive gaming hell, the cold, ruthless Bourne will do whatever it takes to regain his inheritance—including marrying perfect, proper Lady Penelope Marbury.

A broken engagement and years of disappointing courtships have left Penelope with little interest in a quiet, comfortable marriage, and a longing for something more. How lucky that her new husband has access to such unexplored pleasures.

Bourne may be a prince of London’s underworld, but he vows to keep Penelope untouched by its wickedness—a challenge indeed as the lady discovers her own desires, and her willingness to wager anything for them… even her heart. 

divider black
  • Save
A Deal With The Elf King by Elise Kova
  • Save

A Deal With The Elf King by Elise Kova

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a “happily ever after” ending. It’s perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

divider black
  • Save
The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
  • Save

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

Every girl who had taken the test has died.

Now it’s Kate’s turn.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

If she fails…

divider black
  • Save
Tempting Hades by Emma Hamm
  • Save

Tempting Hades by Emma Hamm

He offered her more than a throne.
More than the Underworld.
He offered her a love that would withstand the test of time.

Maiden, Daughter, Goddess of Spring. She has many names and none of them fit. Kore lives her life in a gilded cage, loved by all but understood by none.

When Hades appears out of the darkness with promises of midnight and glory on his tongue, he offers her a kingdom. Lays eternity at her feet. Bids her eat and drink from the land of the dead. The ichor tastes bitter, but she’s never felt such a thrilling sting.

Then he calls her a new name. Persephone.

Bringer of Death.

But the gods want them separated, and few can trick the Olympians. Of course she eats the pomegranate. He offers it to her with a promise to lay the world at her feet. But she only wants him…

For fans of Circe, Shadow & Bone, and Serpent & Dove, you’ll fall head over heels with this twist on the classic myth.

divider black
  • Save
Goddess of Spring by P.C. Cast
  • Save

Goddess of Spring by P.C. Cast

Lina’s trendy bakery in Tulsa is proving to be less than lucrative, and she must come up with a plan. When she stumbles upon an Italian Goddess cookbook, Lina can’t help but think she’s found the answer to her problem—even if it means invoking a goddess to save her business.

Soon enough, Lina finds herself face-to-face with Demeter, who has a plan of her own. She proposes that Lina exchange souls with Persephone, the Goddess of Spring, who will breathe new life into the bakery. In return, Lina must set order to the Underworld.

Before all this, Lina’s problems mostly involved sourdough and second dates. Now that she embodies the enchanting Persephone, Lina has weightier things on her mind—like the formidable task of bringing Spring to a world of spirits. But when the handsome, brooding Hades kindles a spark in her heart, Lina wonders if this Lord of the Underworld might be the man of her dreams. 

divider black
  • Save
Infernal by Linsey Hall
  • Save

Infernal by Linsey Hall

A dark god rises, and a goddess to meet him…

As a librarian in the most gorgeous library in the world, I’m living my book nerd dreams. The hallowed halls are my haven, until the specter of a dark god begins to haunt my days and nights.

When he kidnaps me, the lethally beautiful god gains a name: Hades. That should make me Persephone, but I’m no goddess. So why does he want me?

While I’m trapped in his castle, I set out to discover what his deadly plans entail. When I learn what he wants me for, I’ll do whatever it takes to escape, including seducing the brooding dark god. Yet there’s more to him than I realized. More to us. Despite the cracks that I put in his armor, he still wants me for a darker purpose–something that would bring about the end of the world. 

divider black
  • Save

Tell Me:
Do you love Hades and Persephone retellings?
Are any of these favorites of yours?

Lindsey xoxo
  • Save

Follow me on: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

42 Comments

  1. Okay, these look fun in their own ways. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy if you decide to try any of these!

      1. Thank you. I’m sure I will.

  2. I look at these lists where I haven’t read a single book on them, in fact I’ve never even heard of them and I can’t help but wonder if I am living under a rock. Sigh. My TTT Post

    1. I know the struggle, I often feel that way checking out other bloggers’ lists. Guess there really are a huge amount of books out there, no way we can know about them all 🙂

  3. Oh I just saw Lore Olympus somewhere and it does look good. The Aimee Carter jumped out at me too when it came out- that cover doesn’t hurt.

    1. Lore Olympus is amazing, I love it so much 🙂

  4. Mareli Thalwitzer says:

    Except for the original mythological tale, I have never read any Hades and Persephone retellings. But some on your list makes me want to take a closer look.

    Clever choice!

    Happy TTT!

    Ten Books to Read if You Love X

    1. One could say that the original myth is the best anyway 😉 Hope you’ll enjoy if you decide to try any of these though!

  5. I love retellings, although I don’t think I’ve specifically ever looked for a Hades/Persephone retelling. These all look interesting, though, and I love the variety!

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy if you decide to pick up a Hades/Persephone retelling 🙂

  6. Sophie @BewareOfTheReader says:

    Goddess of Spring was my favorite in that series!!!

    1. I haven’t read the series yet, but it does sound so good!

  7. Wow, I didn’t know there were so many retelling of this myth!

    My post: https://lydiaschoch.com/top-ten-tuesday-books-to-read-if-you-love-hard-science-fiction/

    1. There definitely are a lot out there! 🙂

  8. This is the year I’ve discovered just how many Hades and Persephone retellings exist! I can’t believe I thought there weren’t any before I discovered Lore Olympus a few years ago! 😂 I loved Neon Gods and can’t wait to read Elise Kova’s books. Great list!

    1. Haha, I know, they’re everywhere! (But I don’t mind one bit 😉 ) I only discovered Lore Olympus this year, but OMG it was so good!

  9. masterspj says:

    You’re right that the Hades and Persephone story has been retold a lot recently. I don’t believe I have read any, but I may have to check out a few you have listed here.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!
    https://readbakecreate.com/bookish-gift-guide-stocking-stuffer-edition/

    1. They do seem to pop up everywhere, but I don’t mind one bit 🙂

  10. Fun list! Neon Gods is a book I’m planning to read at some point.

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy Neon Gods! It was my first Katee Robert but won’t be my last.

  11. Stephanie - Bookfever says:

    I knew Neon Gods would be on this list! I love it so much!

    1. Neon Gods was great! A fun intro for me into dark romance 🙂

  12. I enjoyed your book selection. Happy reading.

    1. Thanks, glad you enjoyed the list 🙂

  13. _The Star-Touched Queen_ looks great! I just added it to my list.

    Happy TTT!
    Lori
    https://fiftytwo.blog/2021/11/15/ttt-if-you-like/

    1. It does sound so good! (I haven’t read it yet either, but it’s high on my TBR)

  14. Oooh, great list! I can’t believe there are so many H & P retellings. I feel like I need to read them all!!!! lol

    1. Haha, I feel the same! 🙂

  15. Cool list! I don’t think I’ve ever read a Hades and Persephone retelling. I probably should because it seems like they’re popular.

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy if you decide to try any of these retellings!

  16. I’ll have to read some of these books!

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday.

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy!

  17. With several of these I didn’t even realize they were retellings! I’ve been hearing excellent things about Lore Olympus lately.

    1. Lore Olympus is definitely so good!

  18. I’ve honestly never read a Hades Persephone retelling before, which surprises me since I’m so addicted to retellings. Several of these are going on my TBR though because they sound fantastic.

    1. Great, hope you’ll find some new favorites 🙂

  19. I’m actually not familiar with this myth at all. I also haven’t read any of the books. *Sigh* TTT lists always make me feel so behind, LOL.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    1. Haha, I definitely know how you feel 😀

  20. Marianne Maurer says:

    Interesting topic, Lindsey. I have my problems with Greek mythology, I’ve read about it and find it fascinating, just can’t remember the names of all the Titans, Gods and other beings. Maybe I should read one of your books. Which one do you recommend most?

    Thanks for visiting my TTT about China.

    1. There are definitely so many Greek Gods and other beings in mythology, it’s almost impossible to remember them all! If you’re looking for a fun way to get to know (some of) them with beautiful visuals, I’d definitely recommend the Lore Olympus webtoon.

  21. […] Lindsey @ Lindsey Reads recommends 10 books to read if you love Hades & Persephone retellings […]

Leave a Comment: