Can't Wait Wednesday

Timekeeper by Tara Sim {Waiting on Wednesday}

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

My pick for this week: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Expected publication:

November 1st, 2016

Goodreads link

What it’s about:

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

Why I am waiting for this release:

I’m pretty new to steampunk honestly, but for some reason this story is intriguing me and I just NEED to read it. Alternate Victorian worlds, clock towers who control everything, time stopping, clock spirits, for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab… Say no more, I’m in!

What book release are you eagerly anticipating?

10 Comments

  1. I’ve only read a little steampunk, and I want to try more. I’ve liked some of it. This one does sound good, and the clock towers and alternate world- I’m kinda curious!
    Greg recently posted…Top Ten Books On My Fall TBRMy Profile

    1. It does sound really good, so I hope it’ll be a great introduction into the steampunk genre 🙂

  2. This book sounds fascinating! It feels very fairytale but not. And the description reminded me of Neil Gaiman for some reason. Thanks for bringing Timekeeper to my attention!
    Kate @ Fictional Thoughts recently posted…(Review): Three Dark Crowns by Kendare BlakeMy Profile

    1. You’re welcom, I hope you’ll enjoy this one!

  3. Ha! We have the same pic this week!!! 🙂 Great minds, great minds.
    Di @ Book Reviews by Di recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday: Timekeeper – Tara SimMy Profile

    1. Haha, great minds think… of the same great books 😉

  4. I am totally looking forward to this one myself o.o it looks good.

    1. It does look super good! Hope you’ll enjoy! 🙂

  5. Ohhh that one sounds interesting! I don’t read a lot of steampunk, but after reading this synopsis, I feel like I should 🙂 Thank you so much for bringing this book to my attention!
    Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books recently posted…Twitter: the dark side, or the light of the blogging community?My Profile

    1. Glad you discovered this book 🙂 I don’t read a lot of steampunk either (I only read The Infernal Devices and I’m not even sure that qualifies as steampunk?), but this one sounded too good to pass 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.